Work around

I have a moderate-sized art quilt that I had assembled before deciding on the quilting design. I auditioned ideas for quilting by drawing with a dry erase marker on acetate laid on top of the quilt top…my usual method.

Because the batting and backing was already on the quilt, I could not do my usual next step — use the light table to trace markings from the acetate onto the front of the quilt.

After a bit of pondering, I decided to make a single-use paper stencil. I taped acetate, then newsprint paper, to the sliding glass door and traced the design onto the paper with pencil. I refined the stencil design, making bridges so the paper would not fall apart when I cut the shapes. I used an Olfa cutting blade and my largest rotary cutting mat to cut the stencil. I pinned the paper stencil to the top of the quilt and finally could use blue washout marker to mark the design.

Art-making is a problem solving activity. I added four steps to my process with this work-around, but it solved the dilemma. Yay.

quilting design with dry erase marker on acetate

quilting design with dry erase marker on acetate

tracing design in pencil on paper from acetate

tracing design in pencil on paper from acetate

cutting paper stencil

cutting paper stencil

stencil pinned to quilt top

stencil pinned to quilt top

design on quilt with wash out marker

design on quilt with wash out marker

Leave a Reply

