Vintage Blocks

I just got home from a delightful 3 day, 2 night retreat of quilter/bloggers. I was grateful to be included in this gathering and I met wonderful people with whom I hope to develop friendships based on mutual encouragement. I am tired but inspired. On Sunday I recharged my batteries and tried to digest all the new ideas roving about in my head. I need to “capture” the thoughts while they are fresh, before they get pushed aside by the mundane but necessary routines like cleaning and cooking.

I rinsed and shaped five vintage quilt blocks that I had purchased. The outside edges are on the fabric bias on these hand-pieced blocks, so measuring for intended dimensions was a challenge. A product from the local craft store helped. I pinned blocks to foam board that has an “invisible” 1/2 inch grid. The grid exists as a difference in sheen on the surface of one side. I marked the block size with painters’ tape, then pinned the damp blocks to the board to dry. Meanwhile, I drafted the pattern on graph paper, calculated how much fabric will be needed to combine the vintage blocks with new blocks to make a nine patch, and pulled potential fabrics from my stash. Here are the pictures.
I suspect someone reading this can tell me the name of this traditional block.

foam board

foam board

vintage blocks

vintage blocks

 

3 responses to “Vintage Blocks

  1. Terry, it was so nice to meet you this weekend. I’m glad we were all able to get together and spend sometime talking about what we all enjoy doing so much…create. I forgot that you purchased these vintage quilt blocks. I look forward to seeing how you use them. I don’t think I’ve ever ran across a foam board with the grid lines on it before.

  2. Album block? Sounds like you had fun.

  3. It will be interesting to see how these vintage pieces work into something extraordinary. Nice to have you at QBIR.

Leave a Reply

