Word images

I went to a meeting of Art Quilt Alliance, a group that I joined recently. The presentation, by Beki Test, a mythology/folklore expert, English teacher, and folk singer was wonderful. She spoke about collecting phrases that catch her imagination and working them into her song lyrics. “hair like bone” and “a long exhale” were examples she used. I was nodding in agreement.

I had done that with painting and my fiber art works. I read the phrase “naked stick blues” a year before it emerged as a painting. Another painting is derived from a homophone, “Pear, Pair, Pare”. Word puns were the basis for my fiber art pieces, “Change of Heart” and “Heart Condition”. I have an artwork in-progress based on a phrase with which I comfort myself: “I have everything I need.” It is important to have a way to capture words or phrases so they can incubate and emerge in new creations.

Naked Stick Blues

Naked Stick Blues

Change of Heart

Change of Heart

Heart Condition

Heart Condition

Pear, Pair, Pare

Pear, Pair, Pare

 

Comments are closed.