Elephant

Today was delightful. I have been thinking about a challenge given in a quilt group I recently joined… to use cheesecloth as a material in an art quilt. Pondering possible topics, I thought of photos I had taken year earlier and the wonderful wrinkled skin of an elephant.

reference photos

reference photos

Here are the two reference photos I chose and my drawing made with Caran’d’Ache Neocolor II water soluble crayons on unbleached muslin. The drawing is 18″ x 12″. You can see I “repaired” my model’s ear and made her lovely brown eye more open than in the primary reference photo. I remember the red- brown dirt these elephants apply to themselves as insect protection, so added a hint of that color.
I like the drawing too much to apply the cheesecloth over it, so I’ll finish this as a raw edge applique on a pale green and free  motion quilt on it.
elephantdrawing

I really enjoyed spending an entire day drawing, but I have not solved the dilemma of what to make for the cheesecloth challenge.

Leave a Reply

