Corded edge

This bed-sized quilt is taking so much time to finish! It is the project which makes a useful item from my free-motion practice pieces. I decided to revise the design two months ago, discarding pieced sashing for solid purple. I had spent so much time making the pieced sashing, I decided to use it to cover cording for the outer edge of the quilt…another technique I wished to practice.

The squared corners are tricky. Piping does best on rounded corners. While sewing the piping at a corner, it is better to sew one diagonal stitch, rather than pivot on a single stitch. On the corner I photographed, I think I can tease out the slight wrinkle visible on top, when I hand-sew the border’s facing from the underside. That is what I’ll be doing this week. Here are photos of the process:

joining cord at ends

joining cord at ends

the joined cording

the joined cording

cord cover basted at join

cord cover basted at join

sewing with cording foot

sewing with cording foot

I had to pull behind stitching to sew evenly

I had to pull behind stitching to sew evenly

you must ease foot over the cording at the corner.

you must ease foot over the cording at the corner.

sewn cording from front

sewn cording from front

corded corner

corded corner

facing ready to hand-sew

facing ready to hand-sew

Leave a Reply

