Three

I had only one month, and that month included holidays…but deadlines do motivate. The theme of the Ohio regional SAQA show, music, is a topic I would not otherwise choose. By working every available minute all month, I finished two art quilts two days before the show entry deadline and completed the online entry. I’ve posted the in-progress photos of “Soundwave – Beethoven’s Fifth”, which I made concurrently with “Sound & Silence”. Both are based on visual depictions of sound waves.

I had two days remaining and I had paid the entry fee to enter up to three projects. I did a small third piece from one of several sketches I had made when first exploring ideas for the show. It is based on notations for writing sheet music. I amazed myself by finishing in two days, the fastest I have ever completed a piece. It includes words, drawing and painting, which is typical of my work. Here are photos.

Soundwave - Beethoven's Fifth

Soundwave – Beethoven’s Fifth

Sound & Silence

Sound & Silence

Rest

Rest

Leave a Reply

