Embryonic

This is the pre-birth stage of an art quilt. The work began with a call for entries on the Studio Art Quilt associates website. The themed show, “Diversity in Music”, has an entry deadline only a month away. I began thinking and sketching. I made six sketches that had possibilities; a few others were discarded very quickly. This is comparable to fertilization…the combining of an idea with the possibilities of the medium. My medium is fabric and thread. I developed three sketches. With the deadline only a month away, I can finish one work, maybe two. So I’m continuing work on two ideas, which I will create simultaneously (fraternal twins?). My photo in this post is comparable to one of the blastocysts…the raw materials from which the fetus, infant, then finished work will grow.

The two works have titles, “Soundwave” and “Sound and Silence”.  I’ve begun assembling sketches, reference photos and written ideas in a manila folder, which is low tech but more tactile. I must stop writing now to get back to making the art. In a quilter’s world, one month is a VERY short time.

assortment of yellow & orange fabric

“Soundwave” pre-birth

Leave a Reply

