Self-defined Deadlines

At the beginning of the year I assigned myself five deadlines to finish in-progress fiber art works. It is a public challenge, set up within my local quilt group, the motivation being public embarrassment if one misses a deadline. It has helped. I’ve accomplished 4 of the 5 projects. The deadline for the fifth is next Monday. I doubt if this quilt will be completely finished by then, but it will be assembled enough to show the group. I’m promising myself it will be done by the end of the calendar year.

The construction method to complete this quilt is new to me. I made 10″ x 10″ squares (practicing my free motion machine quilting) and I’m joining them with strips. I sew one side of the colorful pieced 2″ strip on the front and a plain white strip on the back. I machine sew the second side of the colorful strip to the next block, then fold and hand sew the white strip to complete the join. Here are the pictures.
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

