Iridescence

I am about finished with a painting of the Mohican River done from a photo I took this winter. I did golden underpainting next to a pale blue-green for the lights and darks of the water surface, then painted over the gold with dark blue-green. I painted the three tree branches that add contrast and context, then coated the water surfaces with an iridescent blue paint. It is the first time I have used so much iridescent paint in a work.

I kept to my 2:1 ratio that I have used for the past several years. The format is an important part of the design. When teaching, I tell students, “In a painting, the first four lines are drawn when you choose your format.”

source photo

source photo

Mohican River

Mohican River

Leave a Reply

