Green Thumb

The temperature is in the single digits. Deep and drifting snow is outside the window and the air is very, very dry. My skin is feeling the effect of this dryness requiring “lotion baths” twice a day.
The green thumb is my spontaneous innovation, the juxtaposition of needing to discard my dishwashing gloves because of a hole in one finger,

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESand a painful split on the tip of my right thumb from the dry weather. I have used a glove fingertip as a bandage after applying Neosporin to my wounded thumb. It keeps my finger dry and protects it during everyday tasks like washing hands, rinsing dishes, and emptying the washing machine.

The thumb cover gives great gripping power when I open a twist-off jar lid, push a hand sewing needle through fabric or move fabric under the sewing machine needle for free motion quilting. I may save more rubber glove fingertips because they are so handy!

Leave a Reply

