A Few Minutes of Fame

front pages

front pages

I was flattered to be chosen for a human interest profile by our local newspaper editor. But when the article came out on Tuesday January 21, 2014 in both the Ashland Times-Gazette and the Loudonville Times, I was surprised by the front page placement. I received a flurry of attention, many compliments on the article, and a phone call which may lead to opportunities to give presentations and teach classes. The article focused on the reaction to one of my chosen media, fiber art and featured a quote, “I kind of take for granted the art process I use, linking disparate ideas and using multiple techniques, but others have told me it is unique.”

I provided a photo for the article. My daughter, who has been uncomfortable with looking at her image larger than life-size, will be amused to see the close-up of my hand sticking a needle in her eye is the front page picture!

applique in progress

applique in progress

Leave a Reply

