Tree Skirt

I treated myself to a bit of diversion the past few days, making a skirt for under the Christmas tree. It seemed a natural for someone who makes quilted things. The best thing was using materials I have hoarded or inherited. A length of pre-printed cloth came from a “help yourself” opportunity at a gathering of quilters. The backing was a recycled piece of fabric, vintage 1970’s, that had already served as a tablecloth. The filling was an inherited worn-out wool blanket. I used seam binding from my mother-in-law’s sewing box and buttons from her, my mother, and my grandmother. The threads were small spools of unknown provenance.  I feel justified that I kept the materials over many years but also relieved that their use moves me toward a less cluttered life.

under the tree

under the tree

treeskirt&Terryweb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

tree skirt detail

tree skirt detail

3 responses to “Tree Skirt

  1. Very nice! I’m still using a piece of red flannel with scallop edges that I was going to use ONE year! You’re looking good, my friend. Happy New Year!

  2. I saw your work at Winterfest on Sat… there with a friend and 5 kids between the two of us, I’m glad I found you on here and I am impressed with your creative work!

Leave a Reply

