Cast

me with cast

me with cast

Here’s evidence of my latest adventure.
Yesterday, I was leading a hike to a lovely frozen waterfall on a narrow rocky trail with sixteen youngsters following me. I had just demonstrated how to descend an icy slope safely…walk with feet placed at right angles to angle of slope, move slowly and carefully, grasp handy foliage… when down I went. I slid down the short steep incline on my rear end, then hopped up and quipped, “or go down really fast, which I do not recommend.” Very embarrassing. By the time I got back to the lodge my wrist was slightly swollen and starting to ache.
Today I did not really get a diagnosis from the doctor as to whether my left wrist has a break or a sprain, but the treatment is the same, immobilization. I am amazed to be made aware of how many things I do with my non-dominant hand. My newly-applied cast does allow me to type on the keyboard, but it is tiring holding up the weight of the cast over the keyboard.
Life remains full of surprises!

One response to “Cast

  1. Heal quickly!

Leave a Reply

