Keeping up

It has been ages since I sat still long enough to post on this blog. I got stalled out last month when I could not find a photo of a little watercolor that I wanted to post because it sold at the Ashland University Coburn Gallery show. (Yay!)
I attended the International Quilt Festival in Cincinnati this past weekend, volunteering to sit at the Studio Art Quilt Associates booth to earn my ticket into the show. I find it gratifying that these major quilt shows have more space devoted to art quilts each year.
Tonight I made a quick decision to enter a local annual May Show at the Mansfield Art Center. It is a lovely jewel of a place but I have just recently begun to participate in activities there. The jurying process consists of bringing pieces to the venue, then waiting to hear whether you pick up the work the next weekend…rejection, or whether you are in. Accepted works are on display from April 29 and to June 10.
This coming weekend I’ll be going to the opening of the Creative Statements show of Ohio Art Quilts at the stunning Zanesville Museum of Art. I’m really excited to be part of this show and looking forward to meeting the juror, Kathleen Loomis. I was greatly pleased to receive the promotional postcard and see that a detail from my quilt was among the 5 images chosen for the card. Here’s the card:

2 responses to “Keeping up

  1. But which detail is from your quilt?! (It’s exciting that a detail from your quilt was chosen!)

    Congrats on selling the watercolor! And on being part of the quilt shows!

  2. You are really keeping busy working at the shows and entering your quilts and paintings. You are very talented.

Leave a Reply

