Taking the Pressure Off

I was really pushing myself to finish the very large project, for a February 7 show entry deadline. It dawned on me that only in my head must that particular piece must be done before that date. I decided to enter other finished work in the show with the fast-approaching deadline. I’ll find other opportunities to exhibit my large piece. What a reduction in my stress level!

I’ll still finish the project. I’m keeping it front and center in my workspace. But I’ll work on it only an hour or two per day instead of five or six hours a day. I’m using my other artwork time to rearrange my studio, a goal I’ve committed to more than a year ago. I’ll also catch up on fulfilling some promises I’ve made to others. Goals are good, but sanity is too!

Leave a Reply

