Tenacity

A few months ago I thought “Wouldn’t it be cool if I made this really large…”, and launched a new project. For most activities in my life I use an effort to reward ratio as my criterion. After many hours of tracing and cutting intricate and fragile shapes, I began to doubt the project, a visual joke, was worth the effort. I had no idea it would take so long. I did some stern self-talk about the value of tenacity. Today I reached a new stage in the project and it really is unique. I still don’t know if the construction methods I am planning will work. I’ll keep you posted.
Meanwhile, I’ve begun daily practice of free motion quilting. Gads, it is embarrassing to be a rank beginner at anything. I’m encouraging myself by telling myself how much fun it will be to compare these early efforts to my eventual prowess at the technique. My efforts range from so-abysmal-I-must-rip-out-the-stitches-and-sew-again to tolerable–not-too-bad.

One response to “Tenacity

  1. Terry, that is amazing! I can’t wait to see the final result!

    Cynthia

Leave a Reply

