The Freedom of Finishing

I’m out of my usual environment visiting folks in the great white frozen north. I am trying to learn ways to enjoy snow and cold from my hostess. I’m game to try both snowshoeing and cross country skiing. In my time indoors, cozy in front of a wood fire in the fireplace, I’m finishing up a hand-quilting project that I began at least seven years ago.

I expect creative rewards from each activity…trying something new and finishing something that has been nagging at the back of my mind for a long time as an unfinished project. Completion of any project gives an incomparable moment of satisfaction and frees up space in the mind for new endeavors. I call it the freedom of finishing.

2 responses to “The Freedom of Finishing

  1. Ahh yes, the beauty of completion and what David Allen calls “the strategic value of clear space!” I’m working on that these days as well. Best wishes! MJ

  2. i like that. i am always working on so many different things at once, i rarely get to experience it, but when i do, it’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

