Brad, squinting

Here is my effort for today. My son lives over a thousand miles away and I can find only one very poor quality snapshot of him, squinting in the bright sunlight. It seemed appropriate to use this photo as the model for an exercise in portraiture. It helps me therapeutically deal with my emotions related to missing him.

The 8″ x 8″ painting took me most of the day to complete. It has many layers of paint as I reworked and modeled the image. I am impressed by how the tiniest change in contour of a line or tonal area detract or add to the quality of resemblance to the subject. I have increased my respect for good portrait artists. Brad, squinting

Leave a Reply

