A Tiny Miracle

I had the privilege of seeing a tiny miracle yesterday. I was glad to be almost home, driving under the green bower of trees on the narrow gravel township road that leads to my home. Late afternoon sunshine filtered through the trees overhead sending beams of light across the road. In one of these natural spotlights, I noticed the frenetic flight of some small creatures. There were at least eight butterflies zipping and spiralling around one another. They moved unbelievably fast…I could barely follow the flight paths with my eyes. I watched their awesome dance for several minutes. Now and then a participant would drop out of the flight to rest on a leaf before returning to fly again. The butterflies had rusty red, black, and white markings. I’m guessing what I observed is the courtship display of this creature…and what a dazzling display it was!

Leave a Reply

