I haven’t messed it up

A phrase often comes to mind as I am working on a project: “I haven’t messed it up yet”. It is the recognition that a work often goes through a difficult stage before it is finished. Even if I do thumbnail sketches, color tests, and an actual size cartoon before I work on the final version of a project, there are adjustments and modifications to make as the work develops. The best way to evaluate what to do next on a work-in-progress is to prop the piece up across the room or pin it to a design wall, take a break to do something else for a while, then return to view the work as if it is the first time you have seen it. I always end my workday doing this so I can start my next session with minimal time needed to get back in the zone.

Leave a Reply

